L.A. Lights

In my Literature of Los Angeles class, there was a story that featured a lot about the lights of Los Angeles. It’s called “L.A. Glows.” by Lawrence Weschler and in it he talks about how effervescent they are, how they have a mysterious quality to them that was unlike any other city. When it was written, undoubtedly there were fewer lights than there are now. So just imagine if that writer had been right next to me, on the roof of the Griffith Observatory, looking at the humming glow down below.

This was the first time I’d gone to the Griffith Observatory at night but not the first time I’d seen L.A. from above. However, the sight never fails to make me stop for a moment and just be taken by the lights which promise so much to so many.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment