Renaissance Man

One thing I love about the Original Renaissance Pleasure Faire in Irwindale is that it just provides a great escape into another time. Yes, I know that the Renaissance portrayed at Renaissance Faires are highly idealized, stylized, anachronistic, and overall myth (I don’t think Jack Sparrow is classified as “Renaissance”) but I can’t help but want to believe that this place existed and that people like this guy existed. There are so many characters at the faire, so many sights and sounds, it is simply overwhelming and why I go every year.

And on a more personal note, the Renaissance Pleasure Faire this year gave me an opportunity to get out of my comfort zone and take the photo. Usually I am afraid to take candid photographs of people, but I was very inspired by street photographers like Vivian Maier that I just decided to go for it. And I’m very glad I did! I’m far from being that good, though.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

